Printer Friendly Version of this Article

Four Phases of PTSD Recovery

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) can destroy families, dismantle marriages and leave its victims reliving a nightmare. But help is available, and there is hope for PTSD sufferers and their families. Dr. Frank Lawlis, chairman of the Dr. Phil Advisory Board and author of The PTSD Breakthrough, offers the four phases of PTSD recovery:

Phase One: Healing of the Brain
  • Hyperbaric chamber
  • Supplements
  • Nutrition
  • Sleep
            -- Relaxation training
            -- Sonic rhythms/music
            -- Chewing gum

Phase Two: Focusing

  • Breathing exercises
  • Coordination exercises with and without partner
  • Sonic stimulation (as with ADHD)
  • Mental exercises 
  • Blue light

Phase Three: Fear and Rage
  • Brain inflammation (related to mood states and rage)
  • 5-minute CDs (brain training)
  • Sonic desensitization
  • Biofeedback

Phase Four: Finding Your Compass
  • Finding joy (brain stimulation)
  • Awareness of strengths
  • Symbols of focus and inner goals
  • Progression in process
  • Renewal of relationships

Free Download

Get a free MP3 download of the PTSD Program Retraining Your Thoughts. Click here!

Get the free iPhone app The Stress Tracker and download Dr. Lawlis' rage program from this app's Advice section for $1.99.

Lawlis Peavey PNP Center

Dr. Frank Lawlis

From the Show