Message Boards

Topic : Adult Children Living at Home

Number of Replies: 365
New Messages This Week: 0
Last Reply On:
Created on : Friday, September 15, 2006, 04:13:09 pm
Author : DrPhilBoard1
Do you or someone you know still have an adult child living at home either out of necessity, or just plain laziness?  Share your stories here.

As of January, 2009, this message board will become "Read Only" and will be closed to further posting. Please join the NEW Dr. Phil Community to continue your discussions, personalize your message board experience, start a blog and meet new friends.

September 17, 2008, 12:50 pm CDT

Thoughts from 37 yr old

Quote From: lburns917

I am an adult child living at home with my parents. I graduated from college two years ago on the east coast but did not have a job at that time so I moved back in with my parents in the Seattle area.

Over the past few months I have been seriously planning a "move-out" timeline but I am unsure of how to share this with my parents as they really enjoy my presence in the house. I have discussed moving out with them before but was met with an incredible amount of guilt and pressure not to do so. My parents, especially my mother, makes comments all of the time about how I should stay home until I'm married or until I can afford to buy a house which in my mind, are goals for 5 to 10 years away!

If anyone has ideas on how to best approach this topic with my parents, the advice would be greatly appreciated.

Just tell your parents what you are going to do.  Something I've learned better in my 30s:  part of *really* growing up is making AND owning your decisions.  Truly.  Once you 'cross the bridge', you will understand exactly what I mean by this.