Message Boards

Topic : Asperger's Syndrome

Number of Replies: 125
New Messages This Week: 0
Last Reply On:
Created on : Sunday, September 17, 2006, 11:59:34 am
Author : DrPhilBoard1
If your child suffers from Asperger's syndrome, find support and share advice with other parents here.

As of January, 2009, this message board will become "Read Only" and will be closed to further posting. Please join the NEW Dr. Phil Community to continue your discussions, personalize your message board experience, start a blog and meet new friends.

November 22, 2006, 8:28 am CST

some of it

I have Aspergers,and it does sound like some of the symptoms that I have.

November 25, 2006, 5:51 am CST

Asperger's Syndrome

I've been skimming through this morning and saw so many good thoughts. I am a teacher who works with students diagnosed with asperger's syndrome as well as those who have other needs. Someone mentioned OASIS - a very good source. Someone else mentioned TEACCH - another very good approach that works for some students. Some students have been very successful without special education support, and others have benefited from it. Many students diagnosed with asperger's syndrome are also talented & gifted. I've read some of your comments about students diagnosed with asperger's syndrome having other diagnoses (ADHD, OCD, etc), and I'm sure you know that sometimes the characteristics of various labels overlap. As someone mentioned earlier, the supports & skills available vary from state to state and from school to school. There's a lot of information and more is being learned each year. I've been doing research this fall because a grant has become available through one of our universities. I'm still reading and learning more, but I wondered if any of you have heard of the term "twice exceptional learners". P.S, How does a poster go about breaking posts into paragraphs? I thought I had done so, and when I checked the preview option, everything jumbles together.