Message Boards

Topic : Online Dating

Number of Replies: 1529
New Messages This Week: 0
Last Reply On:
Created on : Friday, July 01, 2005, 05:08:34 pm
Author : dataimport
Looking to meet someone online? Or have you met the love of your life on the net already? Share the good, the bad and the ugly of online dating.

As of January, 2009, this message board will become "Read Only" and will be closed to further posting. Please join the NEW Dr. Phil Community to continue your discussions, personalize your message board experience, start a blog and meet new friends.

December 1, 2005, 4:41 am CST

Worst Online Dates?

I'd love to hear about worst online dating stories  - it's good for a laugh...... :o) 

Anyone got any??? 

December 1, 2005, 2:56 pm CST

Watch out for married men!!

Today I took my profiles off line.  I've been doing this online dating for 8 months and the married men on there are swarming!!  I have been approached by blatant adulterors, subtle ones and ones that weave the most elaborate tales.  The last one really hit hard and hurt alot.  We corresponded via email, instant messaging and phone calls for 3 weeks.  He lives out of my state so meeting him right now was not an option.  He is 37 years old and claimed he was a widower of two years.  I won't bore you with the details of his lies, let's just say it was so convincing that I started to fall for him.  Suddenly red flags started flying [never online at night - had an excuse for that though, of course] and only called when he was heading home from work or after dropping one of his kids off at a function.  I called him on it and Bam!........he admitted it and said he was miserable in his marriage [of course he was] and that he hadn't planned on getting involved with anyone like that  - he was just looking for a friend to talk to.  And the kicker to my heart, self-esteem and self-worth was "he hadn't planned on liking me so very much......."  So what does that tell me?  That I should be someone I'm not