Message Boards

Topic : Debt

Number of Replies: 754
New Messages This Week: 0
Last Reply On:
Created on : Thursday, July 07, 2005, 09:21:14 am
Author : dataimport
Are you struggling with debt? Have you successfully managed your debt? Share tips and strategies with others.

As of January, 2009, this message board will become "Read Only" and will be closed to further posting. Please join the NEW Dr. Phil Community to continue your discussions, personalize your message board experience, start a blog and meet new friends.

August 4, 2005, 7:42 pm CDT

I stand corrected....

Quote From: amiga1975

Anyone have student loan debt? I graduated college last year, and I have had my loans deferred for about a year. I am so worried about this debt. according to them its going to take 25 years to pay it off, by that time i'll have paid over 50,000

i have alot of loans, I did not realize it was so high, and now, i can't even find a good job with my degree. (business administration) ( i live in a small place) i just dont know what to do, its overwhelming to think about.

any advice would be helpful

thank you

I purchased another of Suze Orman's books:  THE LAWS OF MONEY, THE LESSONS OF LIFE.  On pages 108-109 she discusses Student Loans and says that if you have a couple, you should consolidate them.  

I was doing the 9 Steps to Financial Freedom and just couldn't move into Step 4 (wills & stuff) - so today, I saw this book for $6 and bought it.  I just have way too many FEARS and I'm still working on getting a good handle on what my monthly spending is. It's like, I can only do it for a little while and then burn out.   

Check to see if your local library has the book -- she even suggests a company you can contact to consolidate your other bills as well.  For me, I'm trying to raise my credit score up -- I can't believe how low it has become!  I went from the 600's to the 400's in a couple of months. 

August 6, 2005, 10:37 am CDT

I took the 1st step to financial freedom....