Message Boards

Topic : Career Goals

Number of Replies: 360
New Messages This Week: 0
Last Reply On:
Created on : Thursday, July 07, 2005, 09:24:24 am
Author : dataimport
Are you stuck in a dead-end job, or do you feel you are on the career path of your dreams? Talk about how to set - and achieve - your goals!

As of January, 2009, this message board will become "Read Only" and will be closed to further posting. Please join the NEW Dr. Phil Community to continue your discussions, personalize your message board experience, start a blog and meet new friends.

November 22, 2005, 5:37 am CST

Business.

Quote From: mteebad

Is there anyone with advice on starting their own business.  I have 4 children and a husband who works long hours in the Air Force.  I have been working odd jobs for the past 10 years trying to make ends meet but have still been unsuccessful.  I think part of my problem is that I haven't been happy at all.  I have had an idea for a business that would allow me to take my two children, still at home with me, so that I don't have to give up my time with them and it would allow me to do something I love.  My problem is that I am scared to death and I don't really have a support system since my husband and I are out here on our own.  How do I get over my fears of failure and move ahead with my business.
I don't know what your business  entails but a major issue is not to have to rely on that business for income for at least the first year so that you can reinvest and expand to your business' needs. Develop a business plan with someone from your banking institution or from the SBA. Don't go hog wild and buy a lot of inventory etc until you find out what your needs are....watch your market- the economy is not great right now which means a lot of businesses are failing- which means that your might succeed if you pay attention to detail. I would love to know what you are going to do!  Good luck!

November 23, 2005, 9:19 am CST

Broken Bridge