Message Boards

Topic : General Advice

Number of Replies: 465
New Messages This Week: 0
Last Reply On:
Created on : Thursday, July 07, 2005, 12:00:07 pm
Author : dataimport
Share advice and support with other parents of pre-schoolers and school age kids.

As of January, 2009, this message board will become "Read Only" and will be closed to further posting. Please join the NEW Dr. Phil Community to continue your discussions, personalize your message board experience, start a blog and meet new friends.

August 23, 2007, 2:05 pm CDT

General Advice

Quote From: crjcapt

I am the father of a 7yr old son,  He lives with his mother in another state.  I am an airline pilot so travel benefits allow me to see him frequently and bring him here as often.   I talk to him everyday sometimes more than once.  Here is the problem.   His mother tells me that he has been getting up early and sneaking food.  Half a jar of peanut buter one morning,  a couple fruit roll ups another morning.   He goes so far as to climb the counters to reach the things that she hides.  He also has a huge problem with ADHD.  He is on medication for it,  but it only lasts a few hours and he is almost unbearable when he's not on it.  When he is with me we can jump on the bikes and ride for hours.  When he is at home that is not the case.  Hence the meds.    What causes kids to sneak food?  He is not small,  I won't say he is overweight but he is not skinny.  When he is with me I can regulate what he eats and only feed him healthy things since that is all my wife and I eat.  We are both athletic and I try very hard to instill that with my son.   When he is here we are always doing something, he will help with house work,  yard work whatever.     The biggest problem now is the food sneaking.  He has done it at my house once that he admitted to.  I am very worried about this.  What causes it?  I want him to be healthy and happy.