Message Boards

Topic : News, Politics and Current Events

Number of Replies: 10264
New Messages This Week: 0
Last Reply On:
Created on : Wednesday, November 28, 2007, 05:18:57 pm
Author : pennylane_78
Please join us on the new News, Politics and Current Events message board: Click here

As of January, 2009, this message board will become "Read Only" and will be closed to further posting. Please join the NEW Dr. Phil Community to continue your discussions, personalize your message board experience, start a blog and meet new friends.

December 7, 2007, 6:32 am CST

News, Politics and Current Events

Quote From: nscrchick

That is a good question.  One I have pondered.  I was always under the impression that the "morning after pill" was basically equivalent to an abortion.  In fact, I work in a hospital pharmacy and I have refused to take the "morning after pill" down to the ER.  I said I couldn't do it because I did not want to in any way shape or form be involved in the death of a baby. 

There is actually 2 different "after" pills.  There is the "morning after pill" (not available in this country legally) and "emergency contraception."  My pharmacist explained it this way:

The morning after pill will expell an embryo, will abort the baby.

The emergency contraception will prevent the fertilized egg from implanting in the uterine wall.  And it may be taken up to 3 days later.  They are actually birth control pills, just taken in a larger dose.

Don't know if this helps, but man it has raised some questions for me.  I have been on B.C.P. for 19 years.  And I am now in a serious dilemma.  To me it would seem that stopping a fertilized egg from implanting may be the same as killing it.  Oh God. Oh God.  Oh boy, I need to do some more research on this, if I have to live with the thought that I may have unknowingly  killed and unborn baby of mine...OH GOD