Message Boards

Messages By: julie1418

User Mood
Happy

Message Emote
blank
February 26, 2006, 5:21 pm CST

yet another opinion

I am really late in joining this discussion, but I have watched both shows and have read most of the message boards. I find myself dwelling on this topic, so I'm going to get this off my chest in hopes that I can end my fascination (obsession?) with the Grant/Kelly saga. 

Many people likened a stay at home Mom to a job where you would have  an employer and would be expected to meet a set of requirements and would be evaluated on your performance. Although I understand the rationale behind that argument, I'm not sure that it is a fair, or healthy, analogy. Here's my best explanation why..... 

I earned my Masters degree and was promoted to be an Assistant Principal at a school at a fairly young age. It was a different school than where I had been a teacher, and when I started, some of the single female tried to strike up friendships with me. They were terrific ladies, with whom under different circumstances, I would have enjoyed a social/personal relationship. But the bottom line was, I was their boss. I would have to evaluate their professional performances and sometimes have to make unpopular decisions. I could be friendly, but not truly friends. 

If you create a situation where one spouse is seen as the boss, evaluator, judge...however you want to phrase it, I think you miss out on the best part of marriage! It is amazing to have that one person who is your confidante, your support system, the person you feel the most comfortable sharing your dreams, fears, successes and failures.