Message Boards

Messages By: patty_r

User Mood
Sad

Message Emote
sad
July 24, 2005, 3:19 am CDT

How do I go on...without my son?

I don't know how to go on since losing my 21 yr old son last Sept (he drowned while swimming with friends). I feel like insanity is just below the surface. And if I think about him not coming back for more than a second I will go over the edge and not be able to get back....is this normal....what's normal??? Help!!!

User Mood
Sad

Message Emote
blank
July 24, 2005, 3:28 am CDT

New to board...wanted to say hi

Just wanted to say hi to everyone. I am new to this message board....look foward to talking to y'all.

User Mood
Sad

Message Emote
blank
July 24, 2005, 3:49 am CDT

Living in pain

I have also been living in chronic pain, for the last 12 yrs I have been in pain. I was injured in a MVA while driving a group of co-workers to a satellite office. We were rear-ended and my neck hit the headrest and I ended up with 5 ruptured disc and a broken neck. I have a plate in my neck which has been replaced once and wires holding the rest of it together. I have been fussed from C-4 down to T-4. About 4 yrs ago I had a pain pump put in which has helped alot. I get it refilled every 28 days with dilauded. I used to get morphine but developed an allergy to it. One of the things that makes living in pain so bad is that other people can't see your pain so it is hard to understand what we go through. Add that to being fairly young and you have to live with others thinking you don't want to work instead of you can't work. Thank God my family is so great...my husband of 23 yrs is a God send. After all my surgeries and every thing we have been through I know he is not going anywhere and that is the greatest feeling in the world.

We know that I will have to have more surgery pretty soon...just found out I have 2 more bad disc. But I am going to wait as long as I can...after 7 surgeries I don't want to go back for more.