Four Phases of PTSD Recovery

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) can destroy families, dismantle marriages and leave its victims reliving a nightmare. But help is available, and there is hope for PTSD sufferers and their families. Dr. Frank Lawlis, chairman of the Dr. Phil Advisory Board and author of The PTSD Breakthrough, offers the four phases of PTSD recovery:

Phase One: Healing of the Brain
  • Hyperbaric chamber
  • Supplements
  • Nutrition
  • Sleep   -- Relaxation training -- Sonic rhythms/music -- Chewing gum 
Phase Two: Focusing
  • Breathing exercises
  • Coordination exercises with and without partner
  • Sonic stimulation (as with ADHD)
  • Mental exercises
  • Blue light
Phase Three: Fear and Rage
  • Brain inflammation (related to mood states and rage)
  • 5-minute CDs (brain training)
  • Sonic desensitization
  • Biofeedback
Phase Four: Finding Your Compass
  • Finding joy (brain stimulation)
  • Awareness of strengths
  • Symbols of focus and inner goals
  • Progression in process
  • Renewal of relationships

Around the Web